HOW Conference: Day One

Day one of the HOW Design Conference has come and gone. It feels like I’ve done so much today because I’ve seen so many things. One chance has gone by to win an Adobe CS3, and surprisingly I did not win. Amelia and Adam must not have taken my prayer request seriously. Here’s a few of my reflections from the first day:

1. My first session, Packaging with Personality, was incredibly inspiring. Sharon Werner, of Werner Design Works, shared her process for uncovering a product’s story. Instead of asking "What is a brand?" Werner asks:

  • What is your name?
  • What do you believe?
  • What do you love?
  • What do you hate?
  • What is your story?

This helps her come up with a story for a product. Werner believes that there should be more to a product than a logo and package. It needs personality.

2. I did not particular enjoy Daniel Schutzsmith of Graphic Design who chose to cuss every few minutes during his presentation. Needless to say, I walked out.

3. Dave Werner’s presentation was hilarious and inspiring. Again I am reminded of how much I need to learn flash. I was encouraged during his session because he said he learned flash in a year by taking an intro class and a lot of free online tutorials.

4. I also realized that I am very behind in the "design world." So many of these designers have not only experience but education. I have ability, but that’s it.

5. Jason and I are in love with room service. We arrived pretty late and starving to our hotel, so we ordered BBQ Chicken Nachos. Then, tonight it was raining so we decided to check out one of the restaurants in the hotels. It was a little pricey and we decided it would be cheaper to go back to the room and order room service, which we did. Ahh, room service!

6. Jason has been a trooper hanging out in the room and playing Magic: The Gathering online. Yes, my husband has a nerdy hobby.

7. The vendor exhibit is crazy! It’s tiny with barely enough room to walk. And, they only open it at certain times so everyone is trying to manuever it at the same time. I made a note of that on my feedback form.

8. The HOW Design Bookstore is design heaven! They had all sorts of books; some for $5, some for $10, and the rest were at least 20% off. I got some great books.

Tomorrow is the last full day. I’m eagerly looking forward to my classes.

  • Designing for Digital Print: Getting it Right The Parsons Way
  • Welcome to the Official Russell Brown Show and Photoshop CS3!
  • Grace Under Pressure: Photoshop CS3 and a Wacom Pen Tablet
  • Rich Media Publishing
  • Using Storytelling in Design
  • Dynamic Rich-Media PDFs: Creating the Document Using Adobe InDesign

More later.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “HOW Conference: Day One

  1. Thanks for the kind words; I’m glad you enjoyed the session!

Leave a Reply

