Encouraging creativity: Illustrating

Many of you know that I am a scrapbooker and photographer at heart. However, I am also a lifelong student and love learning new things. I think that it sparks the creative fire. Lately I’ve been doing a lot of illustrating with pen and colored pencils. Granted, I’m no professional. It’s just a nice creative outlet that I believe, in the long run, betters my scrapbooking and photography skills.

Here’s what’s been hiding in my drawing journal (Keep in mind that the scans do not do the drawings justice. I haven’t quite figured out how to get a true likeness with my scanner.):

11-02-08-Caterpillar

I’ve drawn life-like pictures before, but right now I’m on a whimsical, children’s art kick. Maybe it’s because I spend eight hours a day with five- and six-year olds. You think?

11-02-08-Rabbit

(You have to say that one with your best British accent.)

11-03-08-CoconutTree

The next one is my personal favorite:

11-04-08-Pedro

(Be warned. The tail wagging is much more severe in real life.)

11-09-08-Pumpkin

(This is a Mississippi redneck pumpkin.)

11-09-08-Turkey

I love the holidays. Hence the Jack-o-Lantern and the Baby Turkey.
This is so much fun!
1 Comment

Filed under Illustrations

One response to “Encouraging creativity: Illustrating

  1. Mom

    Cute drawings….you should turn professional.

Leave a Reply

