Happy * Loves 01.29.10

HappyLoves

This week I'd like to share some movies that have inspired me lately. This is not all inclusive, as I am a huge movie watcher. Just some of the recent ones.

1. Down with Love – a great nod to the wonderful Doris Day and Rock Hudson romantic comedies. I'm not a huge Renee Zellweger fan, but she does a great job. And, Ewan McGregor is, as always, charming.

Photo_13_hires 

Photo_12_hires 

Photo_16_hires

2. Marie Antoinette – Such romantic clothes. Love the colors.

Gambling13 

Roses6 

Wedding3

3. Pride and Prejudice – I love all renditions, but I have to say that I love the styling of the Keira Knightley version. And the music is absolutely beautiful.

KR-8-pride_l 

Prideandprejudice2 

Pride and prejudice 2

4. Moulin Rouge! – Definitely out there, but such a great movie. Some people aren't a fan, but I enjoy the movie. Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor do a great job and I love the arrangement of modern songs. The sets are so elaborate, and I do love when Nicole Kidman plays a redhead. (REDHEADS ROCK! I am one, so I know.)

Photo_09_hires 

Photo_02_hires 

Photo_13_hires

5. Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events – A children's story with edginess. Definitely not a Disney movie. While I would say that this movie does not do the books justice, I do like the stylization. I don't particularly care for Jim Carrey's overacting, but that's usually a given with him.

A-Series-of-Unfortunate-Events-a-series-of-unfortunate-events-3107785-1050-699 

A-Series-of-Unfortunate-Events-a-series-of-unfortunate-events-3107799-1050-699 

2004_unfortunate_events_039

6. The Holiday – For the music. Good storyline, but the music makes me melt.

2006_the_holiday_005 

Holiday 

The_holiday_movie_image_cameron_diaz
 
7. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Yeah, I watch this movie over and over. I can't help it – I love nearly everything that Tim Burton does, and this is no exception. When it first came out, I was appalled that anyone would try and redo the beloved Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, but this movie is delightful and a little dark at times. And,I love the oompa-loompas even more.

Tn2_charlie_and_the_chocolate_factory_1 

2005_charlie_and_the_chocolate_factory_008

Wallpaper1280_oompa1

8. August Rush – Another movie with a beautiful soundtrack and sweet storyline.

18907903 

Augustrush 

Freddie-highmore-in-august-rush

9. Peter Pan – I love how this version focus more on the transition of child to young adult, which I find to be the them of the original story.

6a00cdf7e270af094f00cdf7e345e6094f-500pi 

Photo_28_hires 

Photo_14_hires

10. Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium – So magical. I love the character of Mr. Magorium – he's so childlike yet wise at the same time. This is a great story about believing. And, Natalie Portman's pixie cut is too cute. Plus, the main music piece is stunning.

2007_mr_magoriums_wonder_emporium_001 

Movie_0457419_82bdceb5e0658b21aac2440452eff88c

539w

BONUS: Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland – I know, I know. It's not even in theaters yet. But it's already inspiring me. I cannot wait to see it.

33355 

Johnny_depp_helena_bonham_carter_alice_in_wonderland_tim_burton 

And, if you haven't seen the trailer, enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Happy*Loves

Leave a Reply

