Fresh Fridays: Make Your Own Fabric Patterned Paper

FreshFridays-header

I love the fabric patterned paper from the Dear Lizzy collection by American Crafts. I wish more companies made fabric patterned paper.

If you aren’t familiar with fabric patterned paper, it is printed canvas with adhesive on the back. It usually comes already sized to 12×12. You can use it like you would patterned paper, as a background or cut up. But, since it’s fabric, you can do anything that you can do with traditional canvas. You can paint it, ink it, sew it, and use it to make flowers which is what I did.

Using a transfer technique I saw Claudine Hellmuth do, I found that I could take an entire sheet of patterned paper and make my own fabric paper. Now the possibilities are endless. All it takes is some sticky-back canvas, water, and a little elbow grease.

I made my own fabric, and then I cut it into strips and rolled into flowers.

*I Do* card

Watch my video to see how to make the fabric. I’ve also included how to make the flower.

*Note: The video is actually only 7 minutes long. The last 3 minutes are a blank screen. Sorry. Also, I used a 2 3/4 inch circle.

(If you can’t see the video, click here to watch it on YouTube.)

Supplies used:

These are the Silhouette images I used:

3_flower_borders_C00194_24282

sketch_flowers_C00036_27011

1 Comment

Filed under Fresh Fridays, Tutorials

One response to “Fresh Fridays: Make Your Own Fabric Patterned Paper

  1. This is so great! hope you are feeling much better!

Leave a Reply

